RSS

My Amazing Experience at the Calico Textile Museum Ahmedabad

02 Mar

The next on our agenda was the Calico Textile Museum Ahmedabad, and we started early in the morning because it is opened for those people who arrive on time. They take one batch of 20 in the morning to see the fabrics. As told by the guide, the museum was managed by the Sarabhai Foundation, founded by Ms. Gira Sarabhai. No doubt, the museum was one of the attractions in Gujarat.

The museum is only 31 years old, and known as one of the foremost museums of the world. It had an outstanding collection in Indian fabrics, handicraft items and textiles, which attracted many visitors. The museum authorities had protected the displayed items very well. They excellently protected the textiles from dust, fluctuations in temperature and air pollution by planting trees around the complex of the Museum.

Calico Textile Museum Ahmedabad

Calico Textile Museum Ahmedabad | Image Resource : ddlogo.blogspot.com

I saw that Calico Textile Museum Ahmedabad had fantastically controlled the humidity and dimmed the lights in visiting hours to increase the textile’s life. I saw numerous varieties in woven fabrics, different range of clothes such as religious clothes and the clothes worn in the Royal Court. Their work includes mirrors, beads, sequins, silk threads and many more. They showed me the fabrics of the 17th century. To my dismay it not only houses textiles but also contains furniture and many crafts gathered from various countries.

It is Gujarat’s heritage, which has big old things, collections with heritage value of furniture, clothes, utensils, gold woven saris, armors, and many more. I had heard about the museum before but when I saw it in front of my eyes, I was really amazed to see so many different varieties of modern and antique Indian textiles. To my surprise, all were handmade.

Calico Textile Museum

Calico Textile Museum | Image Resource : welcometoahmedabad.com

To my astonishment, I saw double-ikat clothes whose one lakh individual threads are dyed before weaving. Kashmiri shawls were also there which I knew generally take three years to make. All the creations were really very amazing! It was incredible and definitely worth visiting. My next visiting spot was the Gandhi Ashram Sabarmati, for which I was eagerly waiting and thus, hired a guide.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 2, 2015 in Tourism, Travel

 

Tags:

One response to “My Amazing Experience at the Calico Textile Museum Ahmedabad

  1. anitsujj

    March 2, 2015 at 4:46 pm

    Wow, the picture is great!

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
